New to Smoking - Brisket Questions

GBSmoke

Hey guys!

Just got my #1 last week. I'm ready to give a brisket a chance. I'm completely new to this and have been reading for the past few hours and this is what I've got (never smoked anything):

For brisket I want a flat. Maybe 4-5 lbs for a small family.

Use a rub, use mustard to stick it to the brisket. Toss it in the #1 at 225 (top shelf due to heat being most stable there), meat directly from the fridge.

It should hit maybe 140 or so and stick for a few hours. Then max out around 200 in 5-6 hours. Take it out, wrap in tin foil and throw it in the fridge for 30-45 mins to let the juices recirculate.

Is that it? Does that sound about right?

Welcome.  Your plan seems pretty stable.  Personally, I would take it to 190-195 instead of 200.

Also, when you wrap it and let it rest, i would not do that in a refrigerator.  If you are going to do it for 30 min. Do it on the counter.  If you need to hold it for an hour or more, do that in an empty cooler with towels.

**  EDIT  **  Double wrap in foil as well.  And wrap in a fashion so that it won't leak and make a mess.

Sounds like a plan, Terry, if you're on short-notice.  I like to inject brisket, rub, and let rest in the fridge overnight.  Rick's definitely right about the rest after cooking - counter or cooler, not in the fridge.  Let us know how it goes!

Thanks guys. I'm going to use this rub (oklahoma joes smoked brisket rub)

1/4 cup kosher salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons garlic powder
2 tablespoons onion powder
2 tablespoons Spanish paprika
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon celery salt
1 tablespoon lemon pepper
1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/oklahoma-joes-smoked-brisket-flat-recipe.html?oc=linkback