Crossing fingers on the Smokin-it #2

packerbacker12

New to the forum - :)  I've read good things about the Smokin-it and am hopeful things turn out well.  I'm fairly new to smoking and purchased the Masterbuilt 30 just a couple of weeks ago but after the 3rd use began to have issues with it not getting up to the proper temp - I was hoping not to be one of numbers of MES users that would have problems but it wasn't to be.  Turns out that may have been a blessing in disguise as I am hearing very positive things about Smokin-it smokers.  Ordered today, should be here later this week and looking forward to seeing how it works out and getting some great advise from the more seasoned experts hanging out on this forum.

:)

I hope you bought that Masterbuilt at Bass Pro or Cabelas they are real good about returns. You will enjoy your SI. What size did you go with?

Pork Belly said:
I hope you bought that Masterbuilt at Bass Pro or Cabelas they are real good about returns. You will enjoy your SI. What size did you go with?

Hi PB.  I purchased at Gander Mt.  I was given a slight bit of hassle from the store manager but I did get a full refund  after stating my case.  I ordered the #2.  Can't wait to give it a whirl.

Welcome from North Dakota PB!

You made a great choice going with the Smokin-It.

There are a lot of helpful folks here that can answer any questions that you have.

A couple of tidbits to start you off with.

1. Purchase a digital scales. These smokers use very little wood and many of us weigh our wood in ounces for our smokes. The amount of smoke you like is pretty subjective, but here is a few guidelines that you can use for a starting point:

Pork Butt / Brisket - 5-6
Ribs - 2-3
Chicken - 1.5-2.0
Turkey - 2-3

2. If you do not already have one, I would recommend getting a wireless (Maverick is popular) or at a minimum a wired digital thermometer as other than ribs, most all of your smoking with be by Internal Temperature verses time.