No more smoked oysters from China, hopefully!

AngieSmokes

Greetings from a really soggy Pacific Northwest! :D My hubby and I are as inexperienced as they come - literally have never smoked a single thing in our lives, so forgive my giddiness today - it feels just like Christmas! UPS delivered our #2 yesterday and as I write this, we're 2.5 hours into the 4 hour seasoning process. I put three of the included wood chunks in the box and the smoke appears to now have almost ceased. Temperature reads 280+. Is that right? Thanks, a total newb who can't wait to smoke her own oysters for Valentine's Day!

Sound about right. Just let it roll for a total of 4 hours and you should be good to go.

You will find that the temps in an empty box will vary greatly and you should not be concerned at all with this.

Welcome to the forums btw! I just realized that this was your first post.

There is a ton of information here for new smokers.

I would encourage you to check out the following threads:
http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=2078.0
http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=2151.0

Thanks! :) Reading the first link now and putting heavy duty foil on the shopping list. Also answered my smoke-leaking-around-the-door question....

Welcome from Colorado Angie! Totally miss fresh oysters. Can't wait to hear how your smoked version turns out. Make sure you post pictures so we can all drool!

Welcome from Delaware, Angie!  You have found the right place and will enjoy many happy smokes with the #2 (I know I do  ;D).    I hope you will post some pics of the oysters...sounds like a great meal!  Cheers

Welcome from NJ Angie....I love smoked oysters and am curious how they turn out!  I must admit I had no idea they were from China ???  Hopefully those were oysters in that can ;)

P2B