Newbie from Columbus OH

khoelscher1

I've been smoking meat for a few years on a cheap electric Brinkmann smoker.  I have had pretty good luck, but don't like the fact that you can't control the temp.  I've never used an internal thermometer in it, but I think it gets too hot to smoke a lot of the stuff I'd like to smoke.

So, I just placed my order for the...
SI#2
Jerky Drier
Maverick 733

After months of research, I finally decided to pull the trigger.  I can't wait until it arrives!!  I was hoping the new one with handles would come out before I placed my order, but no luck.  I don't think I would use them too often anyways.

I read the section about what to do when it arrives.  It says not to foil any of the insides while seasoning, but I thought I read in another section of the forum that you wanted to foil the bottom and the top of the smoker box during seasoning so foil does not stick in the future.  Can anyone elaborate on this?

Thanks

Keith

Brinkman, the Gateway drug of the smoking world. Decent results but always leaving you wanting something more. Welcome Home Keith.

Welcome from North Dakota Keith!

You don't need to foil during the seasoning. I have never heard of any problems with the foil sticking. As much as the foil helps there is always going to be a little grease/fat that gets under the foil. But it is very easy to remove.

Just unpack, screw in the casters, give a basic wipe down to remove all of the packing Styrofoam and any surface dust, place 2-3 chunks of Hickory that came with the unit, and then crank it up to 250 and let her fly for 4 good solid hours and you'll be good to go.

Don't both putting the 733 probes in there as the empty smoker temp fluctuations are not indicative how how it will perform when smoking meat.

Welcome Keith!  I ditto everything that NDKoze just posted ... no foil on the seasoning run and no need to use the Maverick.  Without the foil you will essentially be seasoning all the walls and floor of the smoker.