New Smoker

Midnight Smoker

Hello everyone

My name is Dustin from Macomb, IL. I am brand new to smoking. I just purchased my #1. First I want to give a shout-out to Smokin-It. I went to order the #1 around Christmas time, and they were all sold out. Finally they were back in stock on Dec. 29. I ordered on Dec. 29 thinking I would receive it on Jan 5-6. I received it on Dec 31 and began smoking on New Years Day. Thank you Smokin It! My first smoke was a rack of St Louis Ribs, as was my second one. Some questions I have:
What is the key to getting a good crust?
Both times, my ribs were not done after using Smokin-It suggested recipes. 225 for 4.5 hrs and 235 for 6 hours. Does the outside weather play a factor?
I used about 6oz of Hickory the first smoke, and I thought it was about perfect. The second smoke I used 3.5 oz (like suggested many times) on this board and I didn't think it was as good.

Dustin welcome from Southwest Arkansas. Can you give us a little more information about the process you used for your 2 St. Louis style rib smokes? 1. What type of rub did you use? 2. Did you foil the ribs during either smoke or did you go no peek all the way? 3. Did you apply sauce after they were cooked? all 3 of those can effect the end product you are looking for. On your 1st smoke 4.5 hours at 225 degrees is not long enough for St. Louis Cut Spare Ribs to get done (In my opinion). Plus 6 ounces of wood seems heavy to me but smoke taste is very subjective and everybody's is different. If you thought it was about right then go with what you like. The 2nd smoke done for 6 hours at 235 degrees should have been about right, time wise, depending on how you like your ribs. One thing to remember is the Smokin It Guide is just that, a guide to put you somewhere in the ballpark. it is not a etched in stone matter of fact.  Again, the end result is very subjective to individual taste and preference. 

Grampy said: