New #3 owner from bitterly cold MN

Wik

Hello - Just got my #3 earlier this week and performed the seasoning process.  Ready to try it out for the big college football game tomorrow.  Go NDSU Bison!

I may have some dumb questions down the road.  While I have some experience with country & summer sausages using old converted fridges with my father over the years, I have never smoked anything else.  I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this smoker when it arrived.  I just wish it was a bit taller for summer sausage.  (has anyone made any with these smokers?)  I guess I'll just have to create shorter tubes if I use this guy, as I just could see going to the #4.  But like anyone browsing for smokers I certainly did drool over it a bit.  But I just know I'm going to love this thing.  I love how deep it is.

Being a Home Brewer as well with a fairly automated electric system, I decided I also wanted the PID control for more control / options for set and forget it.  Can easily see getting the smoker going prior to starting Brew Day so they helpers can finish the day off with some BBQ and Beer.  Still awaiting that 2nd order with the PID to arrive, but that won't stop me from trying it out on its maiden voyage tomorrow.

Cheers,
Wik

Great purchase and welcome to the family! I am with you on a PID controller, so much more control over the heating. But even without it, these perform really well. Make sure you go to the Introductions and let everyone know a little about yourself. Oh and we all LOVE pictures of smokes.

Welcome, Wik!  You will have a lot of fun and good eats with your #3!  I would suggest trying out the unit a few times without the PID to see what kind of temperature swings you get...it's pretty normal to see 20 degree swings around your set point.  Then, when you try the PID you will be able to test the difference in the process.

Cheers!

Hey there... We're in the same boat!

I have some experience but new to SI3!!!!