Moink Balls - Meatballs

gregbooras

I want to thank Jason for posting the original recipe, I made some adjustments and they were impressive.

I have been making my families Greek meatballs for over 30 years and these are so much better and super juicy.

Smoked Moink Balls
Yields about 44 meatballs
Ingredients
2.5 lbs. ground hamburger (73/27 blend)
2 eggs
¾ cup panko bread crumbs
2 t minced garlic
2 t onion powder
1 t salt
2 t ground black pepper
2 T Moore’s marinade (or Worcester sauce)
¼ cup grated pecorino/Romano cheese
1 T Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce (or your favorite hot sauce)
My BBQ spice (or your favorite BBQ seasoning)
BBQ sauce
1 lb. bacon (cut in half)
Toothpicks
Wood
2 oz. wine barrel oak chunks

Directions
In a large bowl hand mix all ingredients except BBQ sauce, BBQ spice and bacon. Hand roll into small balls about 1.5” in size. Next wrap with one half slice of bacon and then secure with a toothpick. Season the meatballs lightly with the BBQ spice.
Place in smoker on the upper racks and set smoker to 225 degrees. Smoke for 2 hours, remove and cover with BBQ sauce and then return to smoker. Increase heat to 250 degrees and smoke for another 30 minute or until the bacon with crispy.

*Note for this batch I only wrapped 12 meatballs, the rest I put in with this batch on another rack and only smoked for 1 hour. These I will freeze and use at a future date.

Greg

Hahaha, you're very welcome. I am glad I was useful for once around here ;D

I'm on board to try them too.  What do you think about the idea of putting multiple meat balls with spacing on a shish kabob stick? 

SuperDave said:
I'm on board to try them too.  What do you think about the idea of putting multiple meat balls with spacing on a shish kabob stick?

No problem, I would add a bit of space so the bacon can brown.

Greg