Model #2 On Order

Sartori42

Greeting From Frozen Chicago.

Santa is getting me a smoker for Christmas.  :D

I ordered my Model #2 last night after much research and hand-wringing.  Right after I ordered the smoker... Hey Look!  They have CABINETS!  Ordered one of those as well.  :D

Mrs. Santa won't let me play with my presents until Christmas, so seasoning and the first smoke will have to wait until after that.  In the mean time, I'm here on the forum learning what I can ahead of time.  I have never smoked a thing in my life, so I'm a complete noob.  I want the first smoke (ribs) to be a big success.  I have also ordered a ThermoWorks Smoke thermometer and a selection of wood from Smokinlicious.  I think I've got the bases covered and I can hardly wait to get to the eating part!

Thanks for the great information here.  Looking forward to this new journey.

Cheers.

Steven

Steven, Congratulations on your new #2. I have a #2 also and love it. I am sure you will to. Waiting to Christmas to test drive your new smoker will be hard.

Welcome from ND (also snowy ;)) Steven. You have definitely chosen well by ordering a Smokin-It Smoker and coming to this site. For a newbie to be making such quality choices right off the bat, you are well on your way.

I too had to wait awhile before I was able to play with my smoker. But, for me it was mostly because I had to wait a couple of extra months to save up for the #3 over the #2 which was all that I could afford when I first found the SI smoker and forum. So, I read every thread in ever section prior to actually getting my smoker. This forum was quite a bit smaller and not as many historical posts back then, but it was still a lot of reading. So, you can read and learn vicariously through our posts until you can open your Christmas presents.

Merry Christmas!