Mixed Results

raymondzachary

DivotMaker suggested the following be posted here:
My name is Raymond Zachary and this is my story---

I have been smoking meats for about five years but only in a Little Chief. Generally that was successful although it required reloading the chip pan at least once to allow for very slow cooking to get to 165 degrees for chicken parts. Other meats were always cooked well enough and were succulent. When I moved from California to Austin I brought my antiquated Jennair Grill and refurbished it but eventually paid a fellow to come get it for recycle. I now have a new BroilKing from Canada and tried using a smokebox to smoke while cooking but found that to be unworkable and decided to use the BroilKing for grilling/barbecue only.

After weeks of research I bought a Smokin-It #1 and mounted it to a rolling butcher-block table. I downloaded and printed the cooking, temps, times, and woods chart from the Smokin-It forum. I measured out appropriate ounces of chips. I purchased and tested out a Maverick probe, transmitter, and receiver set. I lined the bottom of the chamber with Aluminum foil as well as the top of the smoke box. I read a number of websites and downloaded various rubs for beef, pork, and chicken. I mixed and stored containers of the rubs.

So now I think I am ready! I buy the meats and deal with them in the following order.
1. 2 lb. brisket smoked until internal temp of 190 was reached------dried out and tough as jerky. Baxter, the dog, is much less discriminating.
2. Whole chicken smoked until internal of 165 was reached-----excellent taste, tender, and juicy
3. 1.5 lb. pork tenderloin until internal temp of 150 was reached----excellent taste, reasonably tender, but a little too dry (my expert son thought it was just fine)