Hi guys just wanted to introduce myself

ccase39

Hi guys, I am a chef and come from a fine dining background. I closed my restaurant and converted an old school bus into a food truck. I have always enjoyed smoking but their is a HUGE difference between fine dining and it's science and principles and smoking. Smoking this way is so much of an "exception to the rules" kind of thing and Has a whole new realm of rules compared to classic culinary arts. It can definitely be more of a challenge to master.

I swore I wouldn't do barbecue on the truck but did smoked brisket and Jerk pork one day and now if I don't carry them I will have a riot on my hands.
I have until now been using cheap smokers from Sam's and Home Depot but they didn't hold up more than 6 months to a year and basically became disposable. I decided to bite the bullet and buy a decent one. I had a Smokin Tex years ago and was about to buy another when I came across the Smokin It. I wound up going with Smokin it #3 because of the size and value compared to the other. It came in today and I seasoned it and put in 3 whole prime briskets. It looks to be put together a little bit better than the ST and there is plenty of room. I'll let you know how it turns out but I think I have a hell of a product for the price. I'll be smoking 2-5 briskets or pork shoulders every other day so if it holds up over a year I will be really impressed.
Anyway, hi

Chris

Welcome, Chef Chris!  I really look forward to your "food science" knowledge and experience!  Yes, BBQ is a different animal, for most cooks, but the SI makes it easy to become a pit master in no time!  And yes, your #3 will last much longer than a year!  (You have a 3-year warranty, so you know you're set at least that long ;) ).  It gained NSF-certification, so that's a bonus for your commercial use.

Let us know how we can help, and I look forward to seeing some pics of your food truck and the SI in action!! 8)