Hi from Jersey

allmann

I am new to smoking. I am stuck between the 2 and 3. I think I am leaning towards the 3 though.  My question really is, what additions besides the unit should I get?  I am an avid hunter and fisherman. I enjoy jerky and snack sticks. I plan on doing a lot of deer and goose jerky/snack sticks and possibly summer sausage with the unit. I have also read many different suggestions to either get a conversion to use dust chunks or chips, is it better to use a certain one? What books do you suggest to get me started also. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

Welcome from Saint Augustine Florida.

I have the #2 smoker, but it is only the wife and I.

If you have the space, the #3 would be a good fit for you.

Things to make sure you buy.....

Cord Hanger
Jerky Dryer
Maverick 733
Digital Scale

Some decent wood, see the wood forum thread.

Greg

If the #3 fits within your budget then go for the extra room.  I've never once  read about someone on this forum regretting getting a #3 and wishing they had gone for one smaller. Either way you'll be impressed with the quality and the customer service you will receive. Not to mention having a whole community of dedicated Qers from many diverse backgrounds and experience levels to help you every step of the way. It's a win-win situation, you can't lose! So, why are still reading this post instead of ordering your new smoker? Well, get a move on! And by the way Welcome from Texas! We're glad your here!