Help with NY Strips

MattENewbie

Hi All:
As the name says, I'm a newbie.  Just got my Model 1 and only smoked my first chicken a week ago.  It came out alright, but the smoked chicken soup the day after was amazing!  I'm trying to smoke a few dry rubbed NY Strip Steaks about 1 lb a piece. I'm hoping to reverse sear them at the end.  Does anyone have any suggestions for temp/time/amount of wood?  Thanks!

How rare do you like your finished steak?  I would suggest smoking to 5 - 10 degrees under your desired finish temp so that the reverse sear will bring you to the finish line.  You won't need a lot of wood unless you really like smoke.  I'd think 1 oz. is plenty for a steak. 

I usually leave steaks for the grill, but if you do a search for "Steak", you will find several threads discussing this.

BTW, welcome from ND! You are going to love your new smoker and this forum.

For your bird, did you brine?

Welcome, Matt!  Give us a little more info on how you like your steaks, and how thick they're cut, and we can help.  I would also like to know what your chicken prep/smoking temp/final internal temp was.  If done right, chicken in the SI is amaaaaazing!

Thank you to all!
As for the steaks:  There were 4 (~1 lb. each) steaks - about 1" thick.  I like 'em medium rare, so I was hoping to get them to 145 internal and then reverse sear them just for marks.  They came out OK.  My wife and kids loved them, but they were definitely overcooked and dry.  I set them at 220 degrees on the highest rack with about 2oz. Hickory/Pecan.  The smoke taste was great... however, I ended up taking my kids to the town pool and left them in for about two hours.  When I came back, they were already at an internal temp of 165.  Next time, I will take SuperDave's advice and set the temp right below my target OR make sure I'm home for the last hour.