Hello, newbie here!

jaystekan

Hi all, just joined the forum, figured I would introduce myself. We have semi-recently moved to Texas and have discovered smoking. I am a huge BBQ guy, but never tried smoking until recently. Anyway.... My Weber Performer grill got damaged in transit when we moved, so I purchased a Kamado as a replacement. Since it's capable of smoking I gave it a whirl. WOW, my wife and kids ate that up. That was 9 months ago. I still smoke weekly in the Kamado. While I love my Kamado, smoking in it is not exactly easy. Between adjusting air vents to hold the right temp, adding lump charcoal,  getting ready to put a brisket or rack of ribs on, only to realize that i am too low on charcoal, I am tired of fighting with the Kamado to get the perfect smoke. When the Kamado does a good smoke, it does a GOOD smoke, but let that grill get away from you, and it's all over for whatever is in there. So...I have decided on an electric smoker, and the Smoking-it comes highly reviewed. I am most likely going to be ordering my smoker end of this week or early next. Trying to decide between the #2 or the #3. Looking forward to joining the group here, lots of great information!!!!

Hi Jay, welcome from Colorado. If you can afford a #3 you won't be disappointed. I love my #2 but it is usually for a smaller crowd. The kids are out of the house.  :)

Welcome Jay from SE Arizona. Go larger if you can afford it; always nice to have the extra capacity, just in case. But either way you go, you are getting the best built smoker on the planet.