Greetings from Wisconsin brrrr!

SconnieQ

I purchased a SI Model #1 as a Christmas gift to myself. I've been obsessed with reading every detail on their website, and on the forums for a couple months. SI had a great deal on free accessories around the holidays (free cover, rib hooks and chip insert). So I couldn't resist. Was thinking about waiting until Spring, but nothing reminds you of summer more than some smoked food in January! I also purchased the cold smoke plate, power cord hooks, and an extra rack.

I have been using a WSM for about 10 years, so I have some smoking experience. Ribs, butts, brisket, turkey, chicken, hot-smoked salmon. Although I have received good results from the WSM, and sometimes enjoy the fuss, I really don't use it as often as I would have liked. I generally only need to smoke for 1-3 people, so many times I was just not up for a full day of monitoring the WSM for a small amount of food for 1 or 2 people. It was not worth the effort and fuel. The #1 should be perfect for 95% of my smokes. (Can always use the WSM when I need larger quantity.)

With what seems to be an increasing popularity in electric smokers, I decided to research it and found this wonderful product! So superior to the other brands and at a great price.

We've had HIGHS below zero for the last couple weeks, so I've been admiring the beautiful smoker in the comfort of my home. Temps in the 20s now, so I plan to season it on Friday, pork butt Saturday. I plan on using it in the coldest (sub-zero) Wisconsin winter temps once I get er seasoned-up. (Never used the WSM in the winter.)

Look forward to some LazyQ and using it often, and year-round! And trying some cold-smoked salmon! (Hope the WSM forgives me...)

Welcome from ND Kari! You have made a great decision with the Smokin-It.

You won't have any problems with the cold. I have smoked in -20F without any problems.