Foiling Baby Backs

bluecatpride

I am new to smoking so just want to ask question about the foiling part of the 2-2-1 process.  Instead of wrapping each rack, will it work as well to place the ribs in an aluminum foil pan and cover the top with foil?  Sounds like a dumb question but just want to know.

Most of us have been converted to the 5-6 hour no peak method. The Smokin-It smokers do such a good job of retaining moisture that foiling really isn't necessary.

Just place your cold right out of the fridge spice-rubbed ribs into a cold smoker with 2-3 ounces of wood (yes, it helps to weigh your wood), set the temp at 225°, and do not open the smoker for 5 hours. At the five hour mark you can sauce (if you like) and place back in the smoker for another 30-60 minutes and you will have some of the best ribs you have ever eaten.

I almost forgot that I always place a aluminum foil mini-loaf pan filled with beer or apple cider on the bottom of the smoker directly next to the smoke box.

Let us know if you have any questions as well as how your ribs turn out.

I am also a convert to the no peak method, although I do on occasion baste the ribs with BBQ sauce for the last hour.

The purpose of wrapping each rack in foil with some apple juice is to allow the juice to continue adding some moisture to the ribs as they continue to cook.  I am not sure if you place all of the racks in one foil pan with juice if it will have the same effect.  You could give a try and see how they turn out.  Or better yet, try foiling a couple individually and place the rest in a foil pan...you could test out the two methods after the smoke.

As Steve said, I would definitely experiment. That is how some of the best recipes/methods are created.

My thoughts on this:

I would be worried that placing the ribs in a foil pan of apple juice would not get adequate smoke coverage as they would have limited surface area available to the smoke.