First Ribeye steaks on the SI #1

Donmac

This was the first time trying steaks in the SI #1 for me. Sunday's late lunch.

I picked up two 1lb. Ribeye steaks at the butcher and Rubbed them down with some black pepper and kosher salt.

Put them in smoker @ 225 top shelf with 1 1/2oz. of the new Red Oak I got from smokinlicious.com as a sample.

I have never used Oak before in any of my smokes, so this is a new wood for me too.

The plan was to cook to 120IT and then reverse sear in the cast iron skillet with butter for 2 minutes a side.

It took an hour and fifteen minutes to reach the 120IT.

My wife and I both said that these where the best steaks we ever tasted, mainly due to the smoke profile using the Red Oak we believe. It was a really flavorful smoke taste.

Attachments

• ribeye1.png
    ribeye1.png
    633.5 KB · Views: 379
  • ribeye2.png
    ribeye2.png
    174 KB · Views: 451
SuperDave said:
Don,
Great looking steaks.  I've not done steaks in the smoker but looks like you had great results.

I don't think I will cook steaks any other way now, man I love the SI smokers.

Outstanding. I used to cold smoke my rib-eyes with a tube smoker...now I can let the SI do the work.

Red Oak is great for beef. That is California's claim to fame: Santa Maria style. White Oak/Live Oak is real nice also.

Great looking steaks Don! I bet they tasted even better than they look! Haven't done steaks yet but you have inspired me to try it.

Fantastic, Don!  Next time, try smoking at 200; it works great for the "low & slow, reverse-sear" method.  You'll get a little more smoke, and the pink will go all the way edge to edge (like yours).  I use this technique for things like prime rib and top sirloin roasts.  Beef can definitely handle the 200° smoke safely. 

DivotMaker said: