2-2-1 in a #3?

cuddyk

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the #3, but not to smoking. My go-to process is a variation on the 2-2-1 method, putting the ribs in a foil pan, rather than wrapping them. Easier to keep the apple juice in there ;).

Anyway, I tried doing that in my #3 and got weird results. After 2 hours the meat was moist and gray. I did have a pan arranged between the peak of the smoker box and one of the shelf ledges, which prob explains the moisture. I know that electric smokers don't produce bark, but I was surprised to see an almost total lack of brown. I then put the ribs in the foil pans and the #3 never got about 165. Company was coming over in a few hours, so I finished the ribs on the grill.

After reading a bunch of posts on this forum, it seems lots of people use the "no peeking" method, rather than 2-2-1. Is that because 2-2-1 isn't recommended in a #3? Could it be that the foil pans somehow messed with the thermostat?

I'll try the "no-peek" method next weekend, as this cook was anything but Lazy-q!

Thanks!

Pans tend to not work well. I have no idea why exactly ... It makes no thermodynamic sense ... But that is my experience and others too.

Also, I know what you mean by the gray comment. Check the amount of wood.

Lastly, I have used pans only say after I pulled pork, or yard bird, etc and I put that in a hotel pan. In which case I put that in the si sealed up basically as a warming oven with the temp held real low.

Cuddy - No, you will not get good results using a pan.  And yes, you can get excellent bark in these smokers!  But not using a pan, or foiling before the bark forms.  Take a browse around the pork section, and check out pics of ribs and pork butts; you'll see some fantastic bark.

Put your apple juice in a loaf pan, on the floor against the smoke box, and save the foil for lining the smoker floor. ;)

For spares, I do more of a 3 2 2/1 if I have the time.