Author Topic: It has arrived!  (Read 6814 times)

Lionhawk

It has arrived!
« on: January 15, 2015, 02:16:27 PM »
Just wanted to poke my head in and say hey.  The #2 arrived on my step this past monday and i am really looking forward to it (even though i still haven't even unboxed it yet).  I have been reading these boards for the past few weeks and y'all are a great resource.  I am completely new to all kinds of smoking so i am sure you'll see plenty more posts from me.

I plan on doing the break-in on Sunday and Monday doing suome ribs for the wife and I since i am off that day.  Seems Spare/STL are the preferred if i recall from the various threads i have come across.  Just need to work my timeline to have them done at about 5 Monday evening. Not gonna lie, a bit nervous i am going to royally f-up my first go round!  Go ahead and shoot if you have any advice.  Rub recipes?

In a totally unrelated meat question....what is the difference between cold and hot smoked salmon?  In the next few weeks i would like to do a big batch of salmon in strips so i can freeze a bunch and pull them out as needed.  Getting sick of paying $6-$7 for those little strips in the refrigerator section of the grocery store....i want to do my own!

Thanks in advance fellas
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 02:39:32 PM by Lionhawk »
Jason from Iowa.
SI#2

bbqnewbie

• #2 purchased 1/15
Re: It has arrived!
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2015, 03:23:44 PM »
I'm in the same boat as you, Jason.  Ours arrives today and hope to break it in already this afternoon, depending on dlvy. time.  I also am concerned about messing up my first 2-10 attempts - lol.  We can keep pace with each other and compare notes, perhaps.  Ribs will also be the first thing we smoke.

- arline -
Smokin-It #2
Life-long gourmet cook, but never smoked before!  I'm now into my 2nd year of smoking - about 10X per year maximum.
San Diego

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2015, 04:27:05 PM »