Author Topic: Question about Pork Butt  (Read 5653 times)

Revica

Question about Pork Butt
« on: November 15, 2013, 04:45:52 PM »
     Hello everyone, I just asked this in the introduction section, but figured I would also ask here. I went to my local Sam's Club and bought a twin pack labeled "Pork Shoulder and Boston Butt". It has a total weight of about 20lbs. and the two cuts look about equal in size, so about 10lbs. a piece.

I want to use Ed's recipe for brined pork butt for pulled pork. I am brand new to smoking(never tried before), and I have some questions. 1. Could I/Should I try to smoke both cuts, and will my cook time be considerably longer? 2. even after the brine, should I put a pan in the bottom with apple juice or beer? 3. because of the more meat, should I increase the amount of wood in the box?

I'm sure I have other questions I'm not thinking of right now, so any other suggestions on top of answers to those questions would be appreciated. Also, for those who didn't see it in the introduction, I am the new owner of a Smokin-It #3. Thanks, Kevin
Kevin from Northeast Pennsylvania

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Question about Pork Butt
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2013, 08:05:37 PM »
Kevin,  I'm re-posting my answer here, since you started a new thread on the pork butt:

Hi Kevin, the brined butt is actually mine (I'm still working on Ed to try one), if this is the post you looked at:

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=1012.0

Great choice on the meat - I always get really good quality butts at Sam's.  As to your questions - yes, definitely use a water pan.  I use disposable aluminum "mini-loaf" pans, usually 1/2 full of apple juice or beer.  As far as smoking both at one time:  No, you don't have to use more than 5.5-6 oz of wood.  It will take the same time to cook 2 as it will 1.  The only time 20 lbs of meat would take longer is if it were one big 20 lb piece.