Author Topic: This looks like a flat, would you agree? results posted!  (Read 4638 times)

40 caliber

This looks like a flat, would you agree? results posted!
« on: November 23, 2017, 07:55:45 PM »
So I bought a brisket. i asked for the whole brisket. point and flat. obviously the guy didnt know what he was doing. in the cryovac, i wasn't sure what it was. i have never done this before. I have wanted to but this is a first try on brisket!

After i got it out of the cryovac and looking at the pics, i am assuming this is a flat. I also notice it was quite trimmed as there is no fat on the top.

I have since altered my plans and put this in a brine overnight. I plan to smoke to 190 195 at 225

1. Can you confirm this is a flat not a point?
2. any suggestions on smoking this puppy beyond the brine?
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 06:31:22 AM by 40 caliber »
Tom From NH
My two favorite things are  my Victory Motorcycle riding the tail of the dragon. and making the CUE!

Walt

Re: This looks like a flat, would you agree?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 09:16:39 PM »
It's a flat. I have had great results grinding these.
Walt from South East Louisiana
Model#2 Bypassed with
Auber PID WSD 1200 GPH
Weber EP-330 LP grill

40 caliber

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2017, 06:56:41 AM »
what do you mean grinding?

i am not sure what you mean.... did you mean Brining?
« Last Edit: November 24, 2017, 07:02:30 AM by 40 caliber »
Tom From NH
My two favorite things are  my Victory Motorcycle riding the tail of the dragon. and making the CUE!

Walt

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2017, 08:47:37 AM »
Sorry typo.  Brineing
Model#2 Bypassed with
Auber PID WSD 1200 GPH
Weber EP-330 LP grill

stout

« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2017, 01:17:05 PM »
actually grinding is good too.. i run briskets through the meat grinder often.. make great burgers.. but they do need to have some fat on them for that

TX Gent

« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2017, 03:46:26 PM »