Author Topic: Smoked country style  (Read 5464 times)

Roostershooter

Smoked country style
« on: June 27, 2017, 12:04:52 PM »
I am planning on making some smoked country style sausage.  I was thinking on 50/50 pork and beef and stuffing it.  I am new to to smoking meats so any help is much appreciated.  What temp should i smoke at?   Should i set the probe to 160 degrees?  I plan on using the racks and thinking it will take about 2 hours.  Comments?

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Smoked country style
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2017, 07:11:47 PM »
Are you talking about ground sausage? 
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

Roostershooter

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2017, 07:39:44 PM »
Yes I am. 10 pounds of beef and pork mixed 50/50 and seasoned and then stuffed in casings. I have seen smoking temps range anywhere from 130 to 250. Looking for a little advice.

Roostershooter

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2017, 03:49:06 PM »
This is what i have learned using google.  Seems to be about two methods most commonly used.  First,never smoke over 170 degrees and smoke to an internal temperature of 152 degrees.  The second method was to smoke at 120 degrees for an hour then ramp up to 170 degrees until 152 is reached.  Seems this. Requires about 4 hours to complete. 

Pork Belly

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2017, 05:50:56 PM »
You left a lot of information unstated so it is difficult to give you an opinion.

Are you making a fresh sausage? You mention "Country" and "Smoked" are you using cure?

Have you read all the postings on Sausage, I know there are a lot but do it. Your questions about probe, temp and so much other stuff has already been written. If you have specific questions after reading all we have already written all of us would be glad to help.
Brian - Michigan-NRA Life Member
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity."
- Sigmund Freud

Roostershooter

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2017, 11:07:19 PM »