Author Topic: 3 or 3D?  (Read 2544 times)

terry13111

3 or 3D?
« on: June 11, 2017, 05:06:18 PM »
Hello. I am looking at getting a model 3 from Smokin-it and was wondering if the digital model(3D) is worth the extra $200.

According to what I have read, the regular version has a +/- of 25 degrees, the digital +/- 3 degrees. I will be using it to make Venison summer sausage, snack sticks and who knows what other roads I might go down with wild game. So basically, will the difference in consistent temperature control matter much for what I want to do?

EFGM

Re: 3 or 3D?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2017, 06:03:38 PM »
Welcome to the forum! While I'm not experienced in what you are wanting to smoke I believe a have always read for those items a consistent temp (perhaps low?) is required as the high fluctuations are not helpful for those types of meat. I'll bet you can use the search feature if you don't hear from someone who also does the types your looking at. Personally, I would go with the 3D! Again welcome!
Doug
Carrollton
A Briskitarian with Briskititus
#4D w/Big Red Upgrade: PG1000: Fireboard

"SMOKIN-IT CARES"

Pork Belly

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2017, 06:52:12 PM »
Save your $200 I have no issues with my #3 and I make a good bit of sausage.
Brian - Michigan-NRA Life Member
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity."
- Sigmund Freud

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2017, 11:32:34 PM »
The PID version will certainly give you a more stable hold on your temperature but a 5 hour smoke will still be a five hour smoke whether analog with temperature swings or the PID. I like the PID because the unit for monitoring the internal temperature of large cuts is built in. But it is a personal preference.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder