Author Topic: Brined with or without rub  (Read 2466 times)

Rockenburger

Brined with or without rub
« on: February 27, 2017, 08:33:37 AM »
Hello, I'm new to all this SI smoker stuff and have a few question and comments. I brined to chicken over night in a basic brine, 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup koshers salt, garlic powder and onion powder. I pulled them from the brine in thw AM and placed aon a rack in the fridg. A few hours before I started to smoke I place a rub on one. Smoked at 250 to 165 and took about 3 1/2 hours in the Big Daddy. As we were tasting the birds my wife asked why I put the rub on the one as the only then that has flavor from the rub in the skin. Don't get me wrong they were both good, just the one with the rub was not much better. As I said I'm new to electric  smokers and timers, and need to learn how to post pics. Thanks I have leared alot from the fourm. Tim in Tillamook
Tim, in Tillamook Oregon, SI #4D, weber porpane grill. seafood cooker and a old charcole grill, have used old barrel smokers.      Wife, twin boys, dog, cat and a bunch of rabbits

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Brined with or without rub
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2017, 09:52:33 AM »
Tim, FWIW, I always add a tablespoon of rub to my pot of simmering brine mixture.  I also sprinkle rub on the meat but it won't do a lot if it isn't allowed to sit on the meat for at least a few hours before smoking. 
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2017, 10:22:23 AM »
You didn't mention it, but I always give my poultry a pretty good water rinse to get the surface brine off of the meat especially if I have brined overnight. Many here will tell you that brining chicken overnight is way too long unless you really cut the salt down, but I have always brined overnight and never thought my results were too salty. So, maybe I like my chicken more salty I guess.