Author Topic: 2nd Brisket Flat in my 3D- 260 Degrees!  (Read 8049 times)

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
2nd Brisket Flat in my 3D- 260 Degrees!
« on: December 30, 2016, 01:09:11 PM »
After traveling in Texas last year, I noticed that a few of the old timers smoked their briskets much hotter than we do. With my first try I did my last brisket at 250 degrees and it was good, so this time I cranked it up to 260 degrees. The results were excellent and now I can start my briskets first thing in the morning and they will be done for dinner!

Brisket
6.7 lb. choice flat from Costco

Wood:
5.5 oz. Pecan

Quick Tender:
Apply and allow to sit for 30 minutes, rinse well and then pat dry & apply rub

Rub:
3 T Pickle Juice/3 T Yellow Mustard
Rub 7 Parts Black Pepper, 3 Parts Kosher Salt, 3 Parts Lawry’s, 1 Part Garlic

Directions:

Applied yellow mustard and then the rub, placed in refrigerator overnight
Place in smoker at 260 degrees with the fat side down.

Once it hit 195 degrees tested to make sure it is tender, removed from smoker.

Placed the brisket in pan covered with foil (added 1 cup Au Jus) placed back in the smoker at 160 degrees, until dinner time.

* Took 7.5 hours to come up to 195 degrees, excellent brisket.

Best Greg

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: 2nd Brisket Flat in my 3D- 260 Degrees!
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 09:04:02 PM »
Looks great, Greg!  Happy New Year!
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

TexasSMK

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 01:00:45 PM »
Giving this a shot tomorrow Greg, thanks, as always, for the post!
Dale from NE Texas--USMC Retired--Living in Havre de Grace, Maryland.  SE#2 with Auber

EFGM

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 10:44:18 PM »
Well, that's close to 275*! That's where I do mine. Let us know how you come out!
Doug