Author Topic: Knife Suggestions  (Read 4820 times)

jpowell

• facebook
Knife Suggestions
« on: November 27, 2016, 11:27:57 PM »
I need knife suggestions.
I'm still new to smoking and my first brisket helped highlight my lack of correct cutlery...I had a really hard time both trimming the fat on the brisket as well as slicing it for serving. 
What knives should I be looking for to add in my LazyQ-ing?
Jason
>3D (my 1st ever smoker!) purchased 4/16
>4 Analog acquired from the founder of Auber Instruments in 11/22 with twin internal auber convection fans. Converting to digital with auber AW-WST1510H-W
>IT Guy
>Autocross and track day junkie
>Far Northern Indiana

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
Re: Knife Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2016, 04:23:46 AM »
For slicing cooked brisket, I prefer an electric knife. Now that I've seen Franklin use an electric knife to slice brisket for competition, I'm no longer afraid to admit it. ;D I also have a Victorinox 12-Inch Granton Edge Slicing Knife, but I prefer the electric knife. The electric knife also works great for slicing poultry breast, leaves a little skin on each piece, instead of the skin sliding around and tearing like with a regular knife. Not that the skin is very edible on smoked poultry, but for roast poultry the electric works well. Also works well for cutting delicate breads and cakes without crushing, or crusty breads, or slicing something like pecan pie, cuts right through the nuts. For trimming the fat, I just use a standard boning knife with a stiff blade.
Kari from Madison WI "77 Square Miles Surrounded by Reality"
Singing the praises of small and simple. SI Model #1 with "Libby the dog" poultry skin eating accessory.
Weber Smokey Mountain (are we still friends?), Weber Kettle Grill (stop complaining WSM, I still have a chance)
Anova WiFi Sous Vide

Grampy

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2016, 06:46:42 AM »
I use an electric knife also to slice brisket.
Jimmy from Arkadelphia, AR
Smokin-It #2