Author Topic: Sous Vide Smoked Brisket  (Read 7947 times)

TmanEater

• Model #2 Owner
Sous Vide Smoked Brisket
« on: August 18, 2016, 12:38:53 AM »
So, I'm trying something new today that I've never tried before. Got a ~18 lb packer brisket and cut it up in basically 3rd's and trimmed. Made some a few batches of peppercorns grounded coarse (1/3rd cup), mixed with 1/4 cup kosher salt, and 6 grams of pink salt. Rubbed into briskets and sealed them into 3 foodsaver bags. Letting them currently rest 3-4 hours in the fridge to get the faux smoke ring action going from the pink salt. Set sous vide controller to 155 degrees and plan to bathe in the water for 24-36 hours. Will then chill in fridge a few days before smoking in the SI2 for a finish.

Did not brine or inject and hoping the sous vide contains the moisture well for the final product. Got the idea from this:

http://recipes.anovaculinary.com/recipe/sous-vide-smoked-brisket?utm_source=01.+Primary+Marketing+List&utm_campaign=3b83e10cd1-Sous_Vide_BBQ_Brisket8_7_2016&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_f33347b916-3b83e10cd1-100427081&mc_cid=3b83e10cd1&mc_eid=8da3b79228
Smokin Newbie starting Dec. 2014... Learning Lazy-Q As Fast as I can!
Smokin-It 2, HeaterMeter PID
Monitor my live smokes at http://bbq.tonylyne.com

Tony from Marion, IA

BedouinBob

• Let's Smoke Meat!
Re: Sous Vide Smoked Brisket
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2016, 09:25:45 AM »
That should be interesting Tony.
Bob - Colorado Springs
NRA & USN

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2016, 12:00:50 PM »
I saw this, and was intrigued.  Can't wait to hear your results!
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2016, 08:19:13 PM »