Author Topic: Si #2 Wont get above 210 w/Auber  (Read 5783 times)

Chilly4757

Si #2 Wont get above 210 w/Auber
« on: May 02, 2016, 07:39:19 AM »
Hey I'm new to the Auber just received mine last week. I done the autotune and then the next day smoked some wings and ribs. The Auber was set to 225* The smoker would not get above 205*. Finally after 3 hours i unplugged the smoker from the Auber and used the regular thermostat on my SI. temp went right up to 230*. Any ideas??? I had my thermostat all the way up on 250* while the smoker was plugged into the Auber. Any help??
DONALD

old sarge

• Global Moderator
Re: Si #2 Wont get above 210 w/Auber
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 08:15:13 PM »
Not sure why the auto-tune did not work for you.  Try setting the Auber for temp and time per the instructions.
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95
SI 3D & Big Red Controller
CS 066
Lodge Sportsman Grill
Weber Kettle
Ducane Meridian 42 inch Grill
LEM MaxVac 1088A
LEM Big Bite #8 Grinder
Chef's Choice 665 and Rival Slicers
Old Hickory Knives
InstantPot Duo80 Plus

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 08:38:39 PM »
Hi Chilly!

Glad to have you with us!  Sorry it took a problem to get you here, but all's good.  Now that you are here, I hope you'll stick around and join in the fun.  We love to solve problems, and will help.  But, we also like to know our new friends.  So, how about adding a first name and town to your signature line?

Before we can troubleshoot with you, we need more information. 

1.  What model of smoker are you using?

2.  What model of Auber did you purchase?

3.  Describe how you did the autotune, and what were the results for P, I and D settings?

4.  Are you using an extension cord on either the smoker, or the Auber?  If so, what length/gauge?

5.  Are you using a large drip pan, or water pan, between the smoke box and the meat?

This information will be very helpful!
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"