Author Topic: Forgetting to poke hole in foil  (Read 4711 times)

GerryC

Forgetting to poke hole in foil
« on: April 30, 2016, 08:21:22 AM »
Newbie here.  I was out last evening, but my wife wanted to try her first pork butt. It was put in around 11 pm and by the time I got home it was smoking nicely.  She managed everything with the thermometer, probe, etc. This morning I asked her if she checked the drip pan to see how full it is.  She freaked out and said she forgot to puncture the foil drip hole.  I tried to poke it a bit from underneath and got a greasy pencil back, but I'm not sure it fully punctured the foil. I really am reluctant to open the door and ruin the process.  Is it just a more messy clean up or should I definitely open and try to puncture the hole almost 9 hours in?  Thanks!

Gerry
NY - Long Island

BedouinBob

• Let's Smoke Meat!
Re: Forgetting to poke hole in foil
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 09:56:39 AM »
Hey Gerry. Don't sweat it at this point. That far in the smoke you are going to get is already done. And the mess you may have to clean up is already pretty much done. I would leave it alone at this point.
Bob - Colorado Springs
NRA & USN

GerryC

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2016, 04:14:57 PM »
I punctured it again from below and a lot of grease came out.  Now the big problem is how long it is taking.  9lb butt on for 17 hours at 225 and meat temp is only at 166.  Maverick was reading 195 to 220 so I bumped the temp up a bit, but still never going to be ready by the time guests arrive.  Oh well.
NY - Long Island

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2016, 04:23:38 PM »
Man, "been there, done that!"  On one of my early butts, on at midnight, I did it!  Didn't realize it until smoker was almost up to temp.  I did the same thing - poke from below.  Never happened since!