Author Topic: Model 2 w/ auber highest temp?  (Read 3697 times)

jlightning

Model 2 w/ auber highest temp?
« on: January 14, 2016, 10:36:26 AM »
I'm new to the idea of using an auber on my model 2 and wanted to ask some questions before I drop the money down for one.  What is the highest temp obtainable in my model 2 w/ using the auber?  What is the max temp swing w/ an auber?  Can you save cook times and Temps on it for specific cooks?  Would I have to replace the current temp probe or be able to run it down through to smoke hole on the top of the smoker?  Are you glad you purchased your auber?

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
Re: Model 2 w/ auber highest temp?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2016, 11:28:06 AM »
The Auber will allow you to reach temperatures exceeding the rating of the SI box itself.  BUT, in order to achieve those temperatures, you have to do a bypass of the stock controller so that they don't fight for control of the heating element.  The most recent stated rating for the SI is 375 degrees.
Model 4, Harrisville, Utah

NDKoze

• Global Moderator
  • Gregg - Fargo, ND
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2016, 02:15:51 PM »
And no, this will not increase your cook times. The temperature swings are really not a problem for most smokes and do not affect the outcome.

A couple of exceptions would be Jerky and Fish smokes where you do not want the top end of a swing to go over a certain temperature.

The biggest advantage of the Auber is the programmability aspect which allows you to program steps such as what temp to smoke the meat to and what to do when it gets to that temp.

As Dave noted, the ability to bypass the stock controller (many topics on this if you search) allows you to go as high and higher than the max recommended temp of 375.
Gregg - Fargo, ND