Author Topic: What do do with tender quick and half a pork loin  (Read 5060 times)

rkr

What do do with tender quick and half a pork loin
« on: December 05, 2015, 08:12:36 PM »
I'm still pretty new at this smoking stuff.  Am loving my #2!  My family is crazy about the smoked pork loins I've made. Now I'm ready to change things up a little.  I have a bag of Morton's  tender quick and a beautiful half of a pork loin.  I'd love some recommendations on the best way to proceed for Canadian bacon.  Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Bexx from Hollywood, MD

gregbooras

• Global Moderator
  • #3D Smoker
Re: What do do with tender quick and half a pork loin
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2015, 08:27:16 PM »
Brian,

If you do a search you will find recipes for Canadian bacon, but here is my version.

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=3136.msg24304#msg24304

Smoked Canadian Bacon
•   4 lbs. Pork Tenderloin (trim and remove fat)
•   Brine for Pork Tenderloin

Brine:
1 Cup Sea Salt
½ Cup Maple Syrup
1 Cup Brown Sugar
3 Bay Leafs
1 T Minced Garlic
2 T Curing Salt #1
2 t course ground black pepper
2 t onion powder

Using the Jr. Briner add 96 oz. of water, next in a sauce pan add 32 oz. of water and everything listed above in the Brine. Heat over medium heat, stirring until all the salt and the sugar are dissolved. Remove from heat and add the brine to the Jr. Briner, refrigerate for several hours until cold.
Remove the fat from the pork loin and cut it in half long ways (loins will be about 2” round). Add the loin to the briner and then push the locking plate down until the meat is totally submerged.

Place in refrigerator for 2 days!

After the 48 hours, drain the brine and remove the loins. Rinse the loins in cold water and then put back into the briner and cover with water and allow to soak for 30 minutes (this will remove some of the salt).