Author Topic: Dumb question  (Read 5596 times)

Hulk

Dumb question
« on: September 24, 2015, 11:56:07 PM »
I'm new to this world of cooking. My smokes are coming out so good the neighbors start circling the driveway on Saturdays when the smell of smoke hits the neighborhood. However, what exactly is an auber, what does it do, and why would I want one? Sorry for the dumb question but how else will I learn.
Smokin-it #2
Weber Genesis Series Special Addition
Plenty of campfires
Northeast United States

smokeasaurus

Re: Dumb question
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 12:36:01 AM »
The only dumb question is one that you don't ask.

Got a good bunch around here that love to help out  8)
Got Smoke?
Smokin It #2 and stand
Weber Performer
Weber Redhead
Gabby Grills Santa Maria and Rotisserie
PK Grill
Blackstone 36 inch Flat Top

elkins20

• Smokin it best electric smoker bar none!
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 12:51:53 AM »
Hey Nfaa, I have 2 of the Auber pids, since my #3 is about 2 years old and my #1 is less than a year old. There was a newer version for it. What is does is it controls the temp. swings to a +/- 1 degree in the box. Also it allows you to program 6 steps on a smoke. Most I have ever used is a 4 step program and normally just will use 3. On the newer versions it also allows you to store programs. Do you need it to turn out great q from a SI nope. But, for the geeks it is a must. I also like that you can place a permanent mount wall temp. probe that will give to good control on the box temp. I am sure others will also chime in on this post. I know that you cannot add your name to the signature but could you put which smoker you have and maybe a city. Thanks and hope I did shed some light on your question.
Bill SI#1, SI#3, 2 Auber Pids, Cold Smoke Plate for the #3, Large Weber kettle, Smoky Joe Weber, and 2006 Harley softail deuce for stress relief,  from Kansas City, Missouri

SuperDave

• Officially Retired