Author Topic: First Turkey help and brine  (Read 4456 times)

roblox84

First Turkey help and brine
« on: March 22, 2014, 02:46:58 PM »
I've read conflicting information on how long to brine a turkey, anywhere from 4 hours to 48 hours. Today I made my brine using approximately 2 gallons of water with 1.5 cups of salt, some garlic, brown sugar, pepper and worchestire sauce. The recipe called for the Turkey to sit in the brine for 48 hours but now I'm wondering if this is too long?

swthorpe

• Global Moderator
Re: First Turkey help and brine
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2014, 03:48:48 PM »
I am no expert on brining times, but 48 hours sounds extreme.    When I smoked a 13# whole turkey, I brined it for 24 hours.
Steve from Delaware
Smokin-It #2

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2014, 04:30:00 PM »
I'm with Steve - 48 hours seems really long.  How much does your turkey weigh?  You have 3/4 cup of salt per gallon in your brine, so it's a little less than I use for poultry (1 cup per gallon), and I brine a 5 pound chicken for about 4 hours.  You have a lot thicker meat, and more mass, with a turkey, so I think Steve's recommendation of 24 hours should be sufficient.

Unless you're using an equilibrium brine, time is important.  I'd say try 24 hours, then adjust based on the results.

Here's a little something I put together about brines, if you haven't seen it:

http://smokinitforums.com/index.php?topic=1504.0

Let us know how the bird turns out!

One more thing... Did you notice if your turkey contains added solution?  Many turkeys are "pre-basted" with a salt solution, so be careful if it was.  If you brine an injected turkey, you may end up with a pretty salty bird.  I have a hard time finding turkeys that aren't injected, and I don't brine them.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2014, 04:33:16 PM by DivotMaker »
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D