Author Topic: Pork Butt Gland  (Read 4243 times)

iluvribs

Pork Butt Gland
« on: February 18, 2018, 06:25:26 PM »
So...I have been smoking Pork Butts for several years now, but yesterday when we got my brother and I got a pork butt from his local butcher (a place I had not been to before), the butcher cut away a small piece of the butt. We were curious and asked about that, since we wanted the fat left on for rendering during our long smoke.
The butcher said he was cutting away what he called a gland, that leaves a bitter taste if bitten in to, that can impact the flavor of the butt.
Has anyone ever heard of this gland before? (I did confirm it's existence on a Google search--first time I ever even knew to look for it!).
http://forum.cookshack.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/2991028883/m/9951063983
When I tried to search our forums, I could not locate any discussions about it. But maybe I missed it.
Any thoughts about removing it, how to remove it, it's location, etc.?
Thanks!
Todd from Longmont, Colorado.
Smokin-It #2, Weber Gas Grill
Spastic Golden Retriever

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Pork Butt Gland
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2018, 06:48:01 PM »
Todd, it probably hasn't been addressed because it's pretty much always removed during processing.  I've encountered remnants of it, but I remove the connective tissue between the muscles (where it's located) anyways.  I find that simplifies pulling, because the tough tissue between the muscles has to be removed after pulling because it just never renders down.  Bottom line - if you get a butt with the gland remaining, cut it out!
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

SuperDave

• Officially Retired
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2018, 06:52:03 PM »