Author Topic: Removing Scratches  (Read 2981 times)

garyng

Removing Scratches
« on: May 08, 2017, 05:29:12 PM »
I am a bit OCD (in a good way) when it comes to the looks of my gear.  I noticed a dulling splotch on my #2 so I took a tiny bit of Bartenders Keeper to buff it out.  It worked but now you can sort of see the buffed area, sort of like I altered the grain of the stainless with tiny fine scratches.  Just curious, how do you guys keep your stainless looking new?  And any advice on what I could do to return my stainless back to it's original glory?  (And really, you can barely tell but it sort of bugs me!)

Meatball

• Smoke it if you got it ....
Re: Removing Scratches
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 06:14:20 PM »
On exterior stainless I have always put a thin coat of Carnauba paste wax and buffed it out as a protective barrier against moisture and stains.I have been working / welding stainless for over 30 years and have never had any problems with this.
My outdoor stainless grill has 13 years of heavy use on it with no signs of rust, considering it is a cheap grade of stainless.
A light coat and through buffing  goes along way .
Bobby
Tennessee resident
Welder / Inspector

old sarge

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 08:42:08 PM »
Gary - If you are trying to restore the 'grain' on your smoker in various spots, you could try a scotchbrite pad or maybe steel wool and water.  Pick an inconspicuous spot (in case it doesn't work or makes it worse) and work WITH the grain in a back and forth motion only, applying just enough pressure to make a difference.  Use as small a piece of scotchbrite or steel pool as possible, maybe just enough to pinch between thumb and forefinger,  just enough to work the area you are interested in.  If you are lucky, and as soon as your 'scratches' come close to mimicking the grain, stop. Be satisfied and move on. And then go with what Bobby suggested for protection. Good luck!
David from Arizona
US Army 70 - 95