Author Topic: Pre-Brine Question  (Read 7388 times)

Grampy

Pre-Brine Question
« on: December 01, 2015, 03:42:01 PM »
I have a question about pre-brining and then holding for a day or so and then smoking. It is deer season  here in Arkansas and I would like to take my SI#2 with me to deer camp and smoke a big half pork loin and make some pork sandwiches for my hunting buddies. Due to lack of refrigeration (except in coolers) I would like to brine my loin on a Thursday night at home and then pack it in a cooler on ice for a weekend hunting trip and smoke the loin on Saturday. I have always went straight from the brine, to prepping the meat, and into the smoker. My question is, is there any reason not to do this? Is my brine going to "leak" out while it is packed on ice before I have a chance to smoke it? I guess I'm a little hesitant because I have never done it this way before. If anybody out there has any advice or insight into this I'd like to hear it.   
Jimmy from Arkadelphia, AR
Smokin-It #2
Woo Pig Sooie!

DivotMaker

• Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D!
Re: Pre-Brine Question
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 08:19:55 PM »
Hey Jimmy, if it were me, I'd brine it, rinse well and then vacuum seal it.  That way, you won't lose the moisture in the meat, and it should be just like it was when you packed it.  Add rub and smoke.
Tony from NW Arkansas
"Official Smokin-It Test Pilot"
Smokin-It Model 1, 2D conversion, and 3D
Auber PID, NexGrill 896 6-burner, CharBroil Big Easy, Anova Precision Cooker w/WiFi
Wife, Son and One REALLY Big Dog!

SconnieQ

• Model #1 since Jan 2015
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 08:58:27 PM »